Utility Menu

National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities


Main navigation

Committee Members

Vaughn Chauvin, B.Mus., B.Sc. (Pharm)
Coquitlam, British Columbia

Appointed: January 2021 to January 2024

Mr. Chauvin is a Clinical Associate Professor in the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of British Columbia (UBC) where his teaching focuses on chronic pain, opioid use, and professional practice.  As a graduate of the University of Toronto, he has practiced community pharmacy in both Ontario and British Columbia.  He completed a post-graduate Community Pharmacy Residency at UBC and has broad clinical experience including work as a consultant in a multidisciplinary pain program.  He is currently an owner and pharmacy manager in a group of community pharmacies that are co-located and integrated into family practice and specialty medical clinics, allowing for a maximized scope of practice.


Michael Hamilton, B.Sc., B.Ed., M.D., M.P.H.
Newmarket, Ontario

Appointed: November 2020 to November 2023


Dr. Hamilton is the Medical Director at the Institute for Safe Medication Practices Canada (ISMP Canada). In addition to his oversight and leadership roles within the organization, he contributes to the investigation of both prescription and non-prescription medication errors, supports the development of mitigation strategies, and collaborates in the many ongoing research projects at ISMP Canada. He advises and educates local and international health care providers, administrators, policymakers, and legislators about issues in medication safety. Dr. Hamilton also chairs the Canadian Medication Incident Reporting and Prevention System Collaborating Group. He has had clinical experience in emergency medicine, long-term care, inpatient care, and office practice and has also served as an investigating coroner with the Office of the Chief Coroner for Ontario. He continues his current clinical practice as a family physician and serves on medical advisory and safety committees in the community.

Larry Hough, B.Sc. Phm., MBA
Toronto, Ontario

Appointed: August 2021 to August 2024

Mr. Hough worked as both a community and hospital pharmacist before beginning a career of more than 20 years in medical affairs in the pharmaceutical industry, focused on medical communications and pharmacovigilance activities. He currently works as an independent consultant in medical communications and medical writing specializing in hematology, oncology and immunology. He continues to maintain a practicing pharmacy licence in the province of Ontario.

Melanie Johnson, B.Sc. (Pharm), Pharm.D.
Vancouver, British Columbia

Appointed: August 2014 to August 2017
Reappointed: August 2017 to August 2020
Extended: February 2020 to February 2022

Dr. Johnson is a Drug and Poison Information Pharmacist at the British Columbia Drug and Poison Information Centre and provides drug information to healthcare professionals and poison information to both healthcare professionals and members of the public. She also works at a private interdisciplinary pain management clinic where she assists with monitoring and adjustment of pain medications for patients with chronic pain. Dr. Johnson is certified in Poison Information, Asthma and Pain Education. She is a licensed pharmacist and has additional training in adult education and lectures at the University of British Columbia on the topics of asthma, COPD, drug hypersensitivity and pain medications. She has completed the Canadian Pharmacists Association ADAPT program and has also participated as an ADAPT moderator.

Deborah Kelly, B.Sc. (Pharm), ACPR, Pharm.D., FCSHP, AAHIVP
St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador

Appointed: February 2014 to February 2017
Reappointed: January 2017 to February 2020
Extended: February 2020 to February 2022

Dr. Kelly is the Clinical Pharmacotherapy Specialist with the provincial HIV program under Eastern Health. She is an Associate Professor at the School of Pharmacy, Memorial University of Newfoundland (MUN) with a cross appointment to the Discipline of Medicine. She serves on a variety of different committees in the pharmacy community and is a past Chair of the Newfoundland and Labrador Pharmacy Board. Dr. Kelly has conducted and published research in the areas of inter-professional collaboration, pharmacist scope of practice and rational drug use. She has numerous publications and invited presentations to her name and is a reviewer for publications such as the Canadian Pharmacists Journal and the International Journal of Pharmacy Practice.

Jason Kielly, B.Sc. (Pharm), Pharm.D. 
St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador

Appointed: October 2016 to October 2019
Reappointed: November 2019 to November 2022

Dr. Kielly is an Assistant Professor at the School of Pharmacy, Memorial University, where he lectures on a broad range of therapeutic topics such as musculoskeletal disorders, cardiovascular disease, headache disorders, geriatric psychiatry and clinical toxicology. He is a Clinical Pharmacotherapy Specialist with the Rheumatic Health Program at Eastern Health. Dr. Kielly has served as the Newfoundland and Labrador representative on the Atlantic Common Drug Review (ACDR) Atlantic Expert Advisory Committee since May 2011. He is currently involved with a number of research projects that aim to assess the value of pharmacy practice activities in both collaborative practice and in community pharmacy settings. Most recently, Dr. Kielly was the co-principal investigator on a successful Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) grant that aims to assess the feasibility and acceptability of point-of-care testing for HIV by community pharmacists.

Kevin Pothier, B.Sc., B.Sc.(Pharm)
Fredericton, New Brunswick

Appointed: May 2020 to May 2023

Mr. Pothier is the Director, Business Management, Pharmaceutical Services with the New Brunswick Department of Health. After graduating from Dalhousie University, Mr. Pothier worked in a variety of pharmacy practice settings, including community, corporate, association and pharmacy industry.  He spent the majority of his career in corporate pharmacy, before beginning a career in provincial government in 2010 with the New Brunswick Department of Health.

Régis Vaillancourt, OMM, CD, B.Pharm., Pharm.D., FCSHP, FFIP, FOPQ
Ottawa, Ontario 

Appointed: August 2021 to August 2024

Dr. Régis Vaillancourt is currently a pharmacy consultant with an affiliation with the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario Research Institute. He recently retired from his role as the Director of Pharmacy at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario. Throughout his career, Dr. Vaillancourt has worked with many different pharmacy organizations. He has served as a board member in different roles for organizations such as l’Ordre des pharmaciens du Québec; the National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities; the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP), where he was vice president from 2008 to 2012; Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists, where he was the president from 2004 to 2005; Pharmacists without Borders - Canada; and as Associate Editor of the Canadian Journal of Hospital Pharmacy from 2002 to 2012. In addition, he was president of the Ontario College of Pharmacists from 2016 to 2018. He has been recognized as a Fellow by the FIP, the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacist and l’Ordre des pharmaciens du Québec. Dr. Vaillancourt has published more than 100 peer reviewed articles on pharmacy practice with a focus on medication safety and health literacy.

Committee Observers:
Joan Sayer - Consumers’ Association of Canada
Jason Fine - Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate, Health Canada